Skip to main content

Leadership Transition at CAMA


February 15, 2024 – Bev Hendry, the Chief Administrative Officer for the Township of West Lincoln, ON, and the current President of the Canadian Association of Municipal Administrators (CAMA), has recently retired.  Following on this, and in keeping with CAMA’s Constitution, she has resigned from the position of CAMA President, a role she has held since January 1, 2023.

Tony Kulbisky, CAMA’s First Vice-President, will succeed her as President effective February 15, 2024.  Kulbisky, who serves as the Chief Administrative Officer for Westlock County, AB, will complete Hendry’s term, which extends until the Association’s Annual General Meeting on June 4, 2024.  Following this, he will continue as CAMA President for the 2024-2025 Board term, as initially planned.   

The Board also extends our sincere appreciation to Jack Benzaquen, our current Past President, as he concludes his remarkable decade-long tenure on the CAMA Board.   Throughout his dedicated service, Jack has consistently exemplified unwavering dedication, exceptional leadership, and support to CAMA’s mission and initiatives.

“I am very proud to have represented the CAO profession across Canada, as a Member-At-Large for Municipalities with a Population Under 100,000, by serving on the CAMA Board for the past six years and as President for the past year,” said Hendry. “Being a member of CAMA and on the Board has been a highlight in my municipal career.  This is an extremely important time for our profession and this organization plays a vital role in advancing, advocating for and protecting it.  The networking opportunities CAMA provides, to share and compare, are important for the success of CAOs in our communities.” 

“I know I speak on behalf of the Board when I say that we have appreciated Bev’s commitment, vision and dedication to the municipal profession, and we wish her well as she starts this new chapter.  Throughout her tenure we have witnessed a remarkable trajectory of growth and success, including the launch of the new Executive Leadership Program, and moving forward, I am very excited to step into the role of President to continue this great work under Bev’s leadership,” said Kulbisky.

Hendry was elected to the CAMA Board in 2017 as the Member-At-Large for Municipalities with a Population Under 100,000.  She became Treasurer in 2020, Second Vice-President in 2021, First Vice-President in 2022, and President on January 1, 2023.  A representative for Member-At-Large for Municipalities with Populations Under 100,000 will be elected at the CAMA Annual General Meeting in June 2024.

Tony Kulbisky, CLGM, assumes the role of President at the Canadian Association of Municipal Administrators (CAMA), bringing with him a wealth of experience spanning over three decades in provincial, regional, and municipal governance.  With more than twenty-five years of dedicated service in senior management roles, Tony's leadership is grounded in a deep understanding of public administration.

Tony holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Alberta (U of A) and has earned several professional certifications, including a Municipal Management and Leadership Certificate from the U of A's School of Business.  He also holds a National Advanced Certificate in Local Authority Administration with Distinction from the U of A.

Throughout his esteemed career, Tony has been recognized for his outstanding contributions to the field.  He was honored with the prestigious 2016 Award of Excellence by the Society of Local Government Managers of Alberta and was a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

In addition to his professional achievements, Tony remains deeply committed to serving his community.  He has served as a dedicated professional firefighter for over fifteen years and has contributed his expertise to various provincial and regional boards.  Tony previously held positions on the Local Government Administrative Association (LGAA) Board, serving as Vice President from 2011 to 2013 and as President from 2013 to 2016. Currently, he serves as the Zone 3 Director on the Board of the Alberta Rural Municipal Administrators.

The revised members of the 2023-2024 CAMA Board of Directors are as follows with the position of First Vice-President and the Member-At-Large for Municipalities with a Population Under 100,000 remaining vacant until the 2024 election:

  • Tony Kulbisky, President, CAMA Representative for Alberta / CAO, Westlock County, AB
  • Vacant, First Vice-President
  • Brenda Orchard, Second Vice-President, CAMA Representative for Ontario / CAO, County of Lennox & Addington, ON
  • Marc Melanson, Treasurer, CAMA Representative for New Brunswick / City Manager, City of Dieppe, NB
  • Bev Hendry, Past President
  • Rodney Cumby, CAMA Representative for Newfoundland and Labrador / City Manager, City of Corner Brook, NL
  • Mike Dolter, CAMA Representative for Nova Scotia & Prince Edward Island / CAO, Town of Truro, NS
  • Raffaelle Di Stasio, CAMA Representative for Québec / City Manager, City of Montreal West, QC
  • Gary Kent, CAMA Member-At-Large for a Municipality with a Population Over 100,000 / Chief Administrative Officer, Region of Peel, ON
  • Jamie Nagy, CAMA Representative for Manitoba & Saskatchewan / CAO, Town of Langham, SK
  • Vincent Lalonde, CAMA Representative for British Columbia 
  • Sheila Bassi-Kellett, CAMA Representative for Northwest Territories, Yukon Territory, and Nunavut
  • Vacant, CAMA Member-At-Large for a Municipality with a Population Under 100,000

Building better municipalities together.

Learn About Cama Membership