2016 Awards of Excellence Program 

Presented by Ravenhill Group Inc.

Excellence in Municipal Administration

RavenhillEach year CAMA recognizes the value of excellence and professionalism in municipal administration through the Annual Awards Program in three areas of Program Excellence.  Awards are presented to local governments and their chief administrators in recognition of their creative and successful programs, projects or services.

Purpose and Objectives of Annual Awards Program

The Annual Awards Program has been designed to encourage excellence in the art of professional municipal administration.  The Program Excellence Awards recognize the achievements of local governments and their chief administrators in the development and implementation of successful programs, projects or services. Success stories are circulated widely to provide CAMA members and other local government managers with new ideas that may prove useful for implementation in their milieu.

Form of Awards

Program Excellence Awards’ recipients receive a plaque at the Annual Awards Program Luncheon held during CAMA’s Annual Conference. Press releases are prepared by the CAMA National Office for all award winning submissions and circulated to the local media.  The CAMA Board member closest to the successful community will also arrange to attend a Council meeting to make the award presentation to the Mayor and Municipal Councillors. Award winners will also be asked to submit a high resolution logo and fifteen to twenty photos of the project to be included in a video that will be shown at the Awards of Excellence luncheon taking place on June 1st, 2016 at the 2016 CAMA Conference being held in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Awards Evaluation Committee

The Awards Evaluation Committee evaluates the nominations submitted to CAMA’s Annual Awards Program and selects the recipients of the Program Excellence Awards.  Each year the Board names a new Chair and strives to ensure that the rotation of the Chair reflects the various regions of Canada. The Chair is responsible for recruiting between three and five additional committee members with an interest in excellence in municipal administration.  Committee members may be current or past members of CAMA or individuals with an interest in promoting and rewarding excellence in local government such as representatives from the professional and academic communities.

This year's chair is Mr. Marc Landry, CAMA Board Representatitive for Alberta and the Northwest Territories.